School Council

St Mark’s Anglican Community School was established by the Anglican Schools Commission and therefore works within the broad parameters set by the Commission. The School is governed locally by a Council comprising twelve representatives appointed from the Anglican Church, the Parents and Friends’ Association and the Old Scholars’ Association and is responsible for the overall development and management of the School. The Principal is responsible for the operations of the School, and reports to the School Council on a monthly basis. The Business Manager is Secretary of the School Council.

The School operates on a budget developed by the Council and approved by the Anglican Schools Commission each year. The School Council has responsibility for formulating and managing the budget.

St Mark’s was established with the aim of making an Anglican education accessible to all families. This means that fees are kept as low as possible. The School offers a curriculum and pastoral care program that meets the needs of parents and students with a level of resourcing roughly equivalent to government schools but significantly less than high fee non-government schools.

Members of Council 

Chair: Mr S Green, BA (Hons), ACA, MAICD

Vice-Chair:  Mr F Shannon, Registered Builder 10531

Treasurer: Jeff Quirk, BSc (Hons) (Chem), PhD (Organic Chem), Grad Dip Ed

Mrs L Hawker, BA(Design), Dip(Building Design & Drafting), GradDipEd

Mrs S Langridge, BBus, MBus(Mktg), GradDipHum

Mrs J Mahon, MBus Admin, Advanced Dip Management, GradCert HR Management

Ms J Mansell, BCom (Acc), CPA

Ms K Roach, BA, LLB (Hons)

Mrs V Rasmussen, FFIA, CFRE

The Revd D Smit, Dip Theology, BSc

Ex Officio

Mr Steven Davies, BApp Sc, GradDipEd, MEdL

Mrs C Gray, BBus (Acc), CA

The Anglican Schools Commission

Vision: To fulfil the Gospel imperative to teach the faith and nurture the young by strengthening and growing low fee Anglican schools as centres of excellence in teaching and learning, pastoral care, worship and service.

Core Purpose: To establish and support low-fee Anglican systemic schools which provide a high quality, inclusive, caring Christian education.

Core Values:  

Faith - Living by Gospel values

Excellence - Pursuing high standards in all things

Justice - Demonstrating fairness, compassion and conviction, advocating for the educationally disadvantaged 

Respect - Respecting self, others and our world

Integrity - Acting with honesty and openness

Diversity - Promoting social inclusion and celebrating difference

The Anglican Schools Commission oversees the operation of  14 Anglican Schools across three states:Peter Moyes (Mindarie, WA), St Mark’s (Hillarys, WA), John Wollaston (Kelmscott, WA), Peter Carnley (Wellard, WA), Frederick Irwin (Mandurah, WA), Georgiana Molloy (Busselton, WA), Swan Valley (Aveley, WA), Esperance (WA), John Septimus Roe (Mirrabooka and Beechboro, WA),  St James' Anglican School (Alkimos, WA), St George’s Anglican Grammar School (Perth, WA),  Trinity Anglican College (Albury and Wodonga, NSW), Cobram Anglican Grammar School (Cobram, VIC) and Cathedral College (Wangaratta, VIC).